The final of the ninth edition of the LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers took place today at the Louis Vuitton Foundation, in the presence of seven artistic directors from Maisons of the LVMH Group: Jonathan Anderson, Maria Grazia Chiuri, Nicolas Ghesquière, Kim Jones , Stella McCartney, Nigo and Silvia Venturini Fendi, as well as Delphine Arnault, Jean-Paul Claverie and Sidney Toledano.

ABOVE: LVMH Prize awarded to Steven Stokey Daley of SS Daley by Cate Blanchett. Photo credit: Saskia Lawaks.

Among the eight finalists, the jury awarded the LVMH Prize to Steven Stokey Daley, 25, British designer based in London, founder of the women’s and men’s ready-to-wear brand SS Daley. He will receive a grant of 300,000 euros and will be supervised for one year by a team of LVMH experts. Actress Cate Blanchett presented the LVMH Prize during the ceremony.

Karl Lagerfeld Prize awarded to ERL’s Eli Russell Linnetz and Winnie New York’s Idris Balogun. Photo credit: Saskia Lawaks.

The Jury also awarded the Karl Lagerfeld Prize to Eli Russell Linnetz, 31, American designer based in Venice Beach, founder of the women’s, men’s and genderless ready-to-wear brand ERL, and to Idris Balogun, 29, designer American based in New York, founder of the Winnie New York menswear brand. Both will receive 150,000 euros and benefit from a one-year sponsorship by the LVMH group. Olympic ski champion Eileen Gu presented the two Lagerfeld Karl awards at the event.

Delphine Arnault announces: “I am very happy that Steven Stokey Daley won the 2022 LVMH Prize for his SS Daley brand. He appropriates the codes of tailoring by playing with the clichés of bourgeois English culture. This year, the jury decided to award the Karl Lagerfeld Prize to designer Eli Russell Linnetz for his ERL brand, which draws on the culture of Venice Beach and his native California, to create joyful, cool and sensual clothing, and to Idris Balogun for Winnie New York, which revisits the codes of colorful elegance, inspired by the basics of men’s wardrobes.

I would like to congratulate all of the finalists and applaud their exceptional talent and creativity. I am also very grateful to Cate Blanchett and Eileen Gu for being here today, both of whom are outstanding in their own fields and an inspiration to us all. Finally, I would like to thank the members of the exceptional Jury for their involvement in this edition and for their support for young creation.

Artistic Directors of the LVMH Group, Bernard Arnault, Delphine Arnault, Jean-Paul Claverie, Cate Blanchett and Sidney Toledano. Photo credit: Jean-Baptiste Mondino.

In addition, three young fashion school graduates were honored: Filippo Bendanti, a graduate of the Università Iuav di Venezia (Venice); Miriam Griffiths graduated from Central Saint Martins (London); Valeria Pasco graduated from Ateliers Alix, (Paris). Each will receive 10,000 euros and will work for one year in the studios of three Maisons of the LVMH group, respectively Dior Femme, Louis Vuitton Femme and Dior Homme.

Like the LVMH Group, which has implemented a global environmental strategy, the LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers wishes to support the winners to help them integrate environmental issues into their design and production processes. They will each benefit from a specific mentoring program as well as an endowment of 20,000 and 10,000 euros respectively on the Nona Source platform, which aims to recycle unsold materials from the Group’s Fashion and Leather Goods brands.


Comments are closed.