Celebrating Virgil Abloh’s Legacy at the Fashion Scholarship Fund’s Annual Gala


It’s always worth celebrating the next generation of designers, merchandisers and fashion enthusiasts. That was certainly the case last night at the Fashion Scholarship Fund’s 85th Annual Gala, which honored 123 FSF scholars, including 23 black students who were part of the Virgil Abloh™ “Post-Modern” Scholarship Fund. Industry titans such as vogueSupreme’s Anna Wintour, Supreme’s Tremaine Emory and Loewe’s Jonathan Anderson were found supporting the awardees, along with Neiman Marcus CEO Geoffroy van Raemdonck, who was also honored at the gala for the Heart of Neiman Foundation partnership. Marcus.

The 123 scholars were dressed to nine for the party, which made for a colorful crowd. Each of their case studies – in-depth projects that presented a solution to a fashion industry problem – were on display in the event space. “It’s just about breaking it all down and making it a little bit more accessible [for the students] So they can say, “You know what? I can see myself in this industry,” Fashion Scholarship Fund Executive Director Peter Arnold said after the event.

Anna Wintour

Craig Barrit

Mecca Hodge and Geoffroy van Raemdonck

Craig Barrit

Brick Owens, Tremaine Emory and Duey Catorze

Craig Barrit

Broadway star Renée Elise Goldsberry hosted the evening’s festivities. The main event was speeches by the four finalists for the FSF’s top prize, the President’s Award of $25,000. Some of the finalists were also members of the “Post-Modern” Scholarship Fund, which Abloh launched in partnership with the FSF in 2020 to foster black talent before his death in November 2021. High Snobbery and the Off-White boutique at the event featured limited-edition products designed by Virgil Abloh and Off-White that guests could bid on, with 100% of proceeds going to the fund.


Comments are closed.